Informal consultations on the formation of of a new Commission to address the gap in management of fisheries issues in the North Pacific Ocean commenced in 2006 and after formal consultations and preparatory conferences the Convention on the Conservation and Management of the High Seas Fisheries Resources in the North Pacific Ocean was adopted on 24th February 2012 and came into force 180 days after receipt of the 4th ratification on 19 July 2015.  Dr. Dae-Yeon Moon was selected to lead the NPFC Secretariat in September 2015.

    The Objective of the Convention is to ensure the long-term conservation and sustainable use of the fisheries resources in the Convention Area while protecting the marine ecosystems of the North Pacific Ocean in which these resources occur.

    The map below provides a rough presentation of the North Pacific Fisheries Commission Convention Area.  The detailed coordinates of the Convention Area are in the Convention text, Article 4.